So Sad – The Photo Was Not My Ancestor

Yesterday, I wrote about a photo that a distant cousin thought was our Civil War ancestor. You can read about that here (Authenticating a Civil War Photo). I wanted to verify this, so did some searching.

It turns out that the soldier in the photo is from the same company as our ancestor and was in Andersonville Prison at the same time. I discovered this by running the photo through Tineye.

Results of the TinEye search on the photo.

Results of the TinEye search on the photo.

The link it provided didn’t work, so my next step was to run the link through The Wayback Machine. That’s a site that stores defunct web sites.

When I saw the results, a web site from 2008, I then googled the topic and found where the page currently resides. Here’s the story about the soldier that the photo actually shows. His name is Lambert Rogier.

3 thoughts on “So Sad – The Photo Was Not My Ancestor

  1. […] it didn’t take long to find out about who was in the photo. Click the link to read about the […]

    Like

  2. heytoto says:

    I was as surprised as you to see the purported Civil War photo of ABT and was, by turns, exhilarated and skeptical. I guess I’m not surprised that it’s NOT him, although there’s always a chance that photos we don’t know about are with other distant family members. I couldn’t make the photo look like ABT at all, even taking into consideration the ravages of being a prisoner and age.

    Like

Leave a Reply

