Feel Lucky if You Have Photos of Your Civil War Ancestor

Because my ancestor lived into his 90s, there are a few photos of him. I feel quite lucky that we have those in the family. Many have to rely on a simple description of hair and eye color from their ancestor’s military records.

Abraham Bates Tower died in 1930. In his old age, he spent time with various children so I need to contact the grandchildren or great-grandchildren to see if any more photos are lurking in shoeboxes or family albums.

In going through my mother’s assortment of photos this past week, I turned up two more pictures of great-grandfather, Abraham. I’ll share one of those here. I knew of 6 photos before and now find there are eight. I’m sure there are more and will keep searching and contacting distant cousins.

2012-10-30 2012 10 30 001

One thought on “Feel Lucky if You Have Photos of Your Civil War Ancestor

  1. Stopped by to visit Mom’s cousin Nancy near Wellsville on my way back from Lawrence. She couldn’t find the box of Tower photos that she knows she has (kids & grandkids remodeled and moved things), but she did find one of Abraham’s daughter Viola Matilda’s photo albums–told her I needed her to get busy scanning! No photos of Abraham in the album but a lot of new ones of Tildy. Nancy shared that when she was a child, the family went down to Prague, Oklahoma and visited Ruben, Abraham’s son. And that Tildy lived with her parents most of the time when Nancy was a child. She and Nancy shared a room.

    Like

Leave a Reply

