The Civil War Infantryman

Hurrah, the book arrived. I’d been eagerly waiting for a copy of Civil War Infantryman: In Camp, on the March, and in Battle. Fortunately with Amazon you don’t have to wait long.

It looks like it has everything I’d been wanting. There are descriptions and photos of clothing, equipment and weapons of the infantryman plus details about their rations. It’s based on first-hand accounts from diaries and letters both Union and Confederate during the Civil War.

This will help me picture the daily life of my Civil War ancestor as I track the movement of his regiment.

Time for some reading…

5 thoughts on “The Civil War Infantryman

  1. Virginia – Is this book only about Union soldiers? I couldn’t tell from the write-up and reviews on Amazon.
    Thanks!

    • Virginia Allain says:

      Good question. I’ll add into the posting that the book does have information on both Union and Confederate.

  2. I might just have to check that out myself. :)

  3. Virginia Allain says:

    Thank you, that is very kind of you!

Leave a Reply

